India, South Africa, Saudi Arabia, UAE Among Others Opt Out of Ukraine Declaration

Foreign Affairs

Geneva: Dozens of countries meeting for a landmark international summit on peace in Ukraine agreed June 16 that Kyiv should enter dialogue with Russia on ending the war, while strongly supporting Ukraine’s independence and territorial integrity.


But not all attendees backed the document, Saudi Arabia, India, South Africa, Thailand, Indonesia, Mexico and the United Arab Emirates were among countries participating at a summit on peace for Ukraine that did not sign a final communique, the Swiss government said.

Switzerland, which hosted the summit, said over 90 countries took part in the talks, and the vast majority of them signed up to the communique, according to a list which the Swiss organisers posted at the close of proceedings.

Brazil, which was listed as an “observer” on the list of attendees, also did not feature as a signatory.