New Defence Secretary Ajay Kumar


New Delhi. Dr Ajay Kumar, a 1985-batch IAS officer of Kerala cadre, has been appointed as Defence Secretary in the Ministry of Defence replacing Sanjay Mitra who is from the Bengal cadre belonging to the 1982 batch on completion of his term.


The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) approved Dr Kumar for the post.

The ACC has also cleared the appointment of Subhash Chandra, Special Secretary (Defence) as Secretary (Defence Production) in place of Dr Kumar. Chandra is a 1986-batch IAS officer of Karnataka cadre.