High Level Meeting Between Indian and Bangladesh Coast Guard August 27, 2018

Indian Navy

New Delhi, August 27, 2018. DG Rajendra Singh, PTM, TM, Director General Indian Coast Guard is hosting a four member delegation of the Bangladesh Coast Guard led by Rear Admiral Aurangzeb Chowdhury, NBP, OSP, BCGM, BCGMS, NDC, PSC, Director General Bangladesh Coast Guard (BCG) in India from August 26-30, 2018.


A High Level Meeting (HLM) between the Indian Coast Guard and Bangladesh Coast Guard was held at Coast Guard Headquarters, New Delhi on August 27, 2018 under the provisions of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between the two Coast Guards. The Indian delegation for the HLM was led by Director General Rajendra Singh, PTM, TM. The HLM focused on augmenting the operational level interaction and capacity building in areas of Search and Rescue, Pollution Response and Maritime Law Enforcement.


Relations between the two Coast Guards go back a long way with ICG ships visiting Bangladesh for professional interactions since 2003. The bilateral cooperation has been institutionalised with the signing of Memorandum of Understanding in June 2015. This meeting and visit is in continuation of the efforts by the governments of the two countries to enhance cooperation between the Coast Guards in the field of maritime safety and security at sea.

During the meeting, both sides agreed to strengthen the mutual cooperation in accordance with the provisions of the MoU. Sharing of best management practices and continuation of personnel exchange were agreed upon during the meeting.

big bang

The meeting was significant in providing added impetus to the already existing professional relationship between the Coast Guards of India and Bangladesh. As the BCG is expanding and acquiring new vessels, a visit to Goa Shipyard Limited has been planned to showcase Indian shipbuilding capability to the delegation. On the last leg of its visit, the delegation will travel to Kolkata for interactions with the Coast Guard Commander (North East) responsible for Odisha and West Bengal.